Merry & Bright

DSC_0410Every year one of the sweet ladies in my building throws a Christmas party with a white elephant gift exchange. I decided to personalize my gift a little this year by using my Silhouette Cameo to create a stencil to paint a Christmas saying on this candy vase. I originally wanted to etch the vase, but then I found this great gold glass pain and decided to give it a shot. I really love the way it turned out!

I used Martha Stewart’s line of glass paints and think they worked really well. Should you like to give this fun craft a try, be warned it’s a tad difficult to remove the stencil without peeling up the paint. But after a few tries (washing the paint off in between attempts) I learned a trick or two. First, apply the stencil (I used regular old Con-Tact paper as my stencil material). Get all the air bubbles out! Then apply the paint. I used a paint brush, then later a sponge brush and found them both to be too streaky. I ended up just applying it with my finger and washing it real well afterwards. But that gave me the thickest, smoothest coat. Let it sit about 5-10 minutes and then remove the outer stencil. Mine had little pieces of the stencil in between the letters and between “merry” and “bright.” I waited to remove the little pieces until the paint was a bit more dry. I waited about an hour. Then when you pull up those pieces you won’t smudge the paint and you’ll get a real crisp line. Also, the Martha Stewart line of paints aren’t cured for 21 days, so I baked it in the oven to get a quicker cure-72 hours.

Have fun painting!

DSC_0406

Leave a Reply

