Ergobaby Sport Carrier

product review ergobaby

Before I had my baby, I never really considered using a baby carrier. I thought they were meant for people walking around amusement parks or hiking. If I could go back and do it all again, I would have purchased this before he was born and used it with the Ergobaby Heart2Heart Infant Insert. My baby loves being carried in this. We bought it when he was about 3 months old and for the first few months of use, he fell asleep within minutes of putting him in it. He was just so comfortable and warm. It was amazing. I really think this carrier could have saved me hours of bouncing and pacing and trying to get him to fall asleep.

After researching the different kinds of carriers, I decided on the Ergobaby because of the way the baby is carried. He is in a seated position, not hanging (which is the way a lot of the other carriers are designed). Again, my baby is so comfortable in this thing–he really loves it. After reading all the different kinds of Ergobaby carriers, my husband and I decided to go with the Sport design. This version is made with lighter, more breathable fabrics. We live in LA and it gets pretty warm in the summer, so we wanted something that wouldn’t be so hot. Apparently it also has longer straps to fit more people. You can purchase an extender separately for the other versions if you want to go that route.

I knocked a few stars off under “ease of use,” simply because I had to read the directions and watch a few YouTube videos before I even felt comfortable trying to put my baby in this carrier. There are 3 positions you can carry your baby in: front, side or back. I feel 100% confident in using the front-carry method, about 90% side-carry, and maybe 30% back-carry (I’ve never actually tried the back-carry because the YouTube videos make me nervous to try without my husband around) . I’m sure once you do it a few times with a spotter (especially for the back-carry) you’ll be fine, but right now I’m sticking with the front-carry. I’ll probably watch a few more videos before I attempt the back-carry. I’ve done the side-carry and it’s been fine, but I personally like having my baby on the front. It feels most comfortable and I think he likes it the best.

This carrier is seriously so comfortable. I have had bad experiences carrying things like book-bags over my shoulders, so I was a little nervous carrying my baby with straps over my shoulders. The great thing about this carrier is that all of your baby’s weight goes to your hips, not shoulders or back. I have carried my baby like this for several 3 hour stretches and never had any back pain. However, the carrier does have a weight limit of 45 pounds. Once I get a 45 pound child in there, I’m pretty sure I’d be feeling it somewhere.

As is always the case, appearance is really a matter of opinion, and there are lots of different versions of the Ergobaby carriers with different fabrics and some really cute designs. I purchased the Sport carrier in a light blue color (which I think has been discontinued) because it was on sale and cheaper than all the other colors. But it’s not my favorite looking carrier. And that’s my fault for buying the cheapest color. So, don’t put too much weight on my 2-star rating in the “Appearance” category. I still gave it 4-stars overall.

As for price, I hate spending over $100 on pretty much anything. And with baby stuff, I feel like I’m spending around $100 on everything. I was really tempted to buy a cheap baby carrier, but I borrowed a couple from different friends and just didn’t like the way my baby was hanging down. All-in-all, I think this may be the best infant carrier that doesn’t require twisting yards of material around yourself. If the price is as bothersome to you as it is to me, maybe try to find a lightly used one on Craigslist or E bay, or put it on your baby registry. My baby and I both love it. If you really want to carry your baby, I really think you’ll love this carrier.

2 responses to “Ergobaby Sport Carrier

  1. How long did you use your ErgoBaby Sport? I’m considering purchasing one, but am concerned that it might not last as long as the Original based on the fabric differences.

    • I’ve been using my ergo for about 3 years now. It has held up very well. I now have a 3.5 year old and twin 1 year olds. I use it just about every day. I machine wash and line dry and it looks just about the same as the day I bought it.

Leave a Reply

